• Print

Election administration and organisation

The electoral administration ensures the transparency and objectivity of the electoral process together with compliance with the principle of equality. 

The electoral administration consists of the polling station committees and the electoral commissions (central, provincial and area).

  • One standing Central Electoral Commission.
  • Four provincial electoral commissions.
  • Thirty-one area electoral commissions (they are in the Catalan towns which are the capital of the judicial district under the judicial boundaries of 1979). 

The provincial electoral commissions are the commissions responsible for carrying out all formalities regarding the nomination and announcement of lists and general vote counting in elections for the Parliament of Catalonia. 

The provincial and area electoral commissions are not standing bodies but rather are set up for each electoral process.


More information:

If you have a query you can contact the area electoral commission for your municipality.

More information:

The electoral sections are the areas into which constituencies are divided. 

They are determined by the number of voters; each section has at most 2,000 voters and at least 500. 

However, there is at least one electoral section for each municipality, bearing in mind that no section can cover an area larger than the municipality.

A polling station committee is the body where voters cast their ballots. The committee monitors the voting process and carries out the provisional count. 

A polling station committee consists of three people: a chair and two members. 

The committee forms part of the electoral administration along with the electoral commissions.